Now My Dog

Remember my part-time pet cat? She turned 3 last October 17! Yay!

 

Yana, 0, 1, 2, 3.

 
 

So as usual, we went to Sto. Niño Basilica, just like last year. Most Filipinos are Catholic and during birthdays, it is usually celebrated by hearing mass and or going to church and light some candles and offer prayers of thanks.

This year, I thought going to the basilica will be a breeze. The girls are a year older, so logically, that means they’ll behave better…….Yeah, right!

There is this mini-garden with a fountain in the middle and a sort of pond on the other end. When we get to the line queue, they zeroed on in the fountain.  They were shouting and running about. Yes, inside a holy solemn place where pilgrims from all over the world pay homage to the Sto. Niño, a place for, and of, prayers. 

They picked out smooth rocks on the small garden and proceeded to throw it at the pond. I caught them middle throw and just like thieves caught with their loot, they both freeze, and abruptly dropped the stones and then ran to the other side of the pond. I am sorely tempted to get back in the line and pretend they are not my children but of course good parenting or at least my attempt at reining/containing their misplaced overabundance of energy won out. I cringe when the security guard admonished me to stop my two children from getting the smooth rocks on the landscape and throwing them on the pond. But this was not what I am most embarrassed about. It was when we were on the door leading to the small alcove-like room with the holy image and the people fervently praying, that made me close my eyes, held my head on my hand and brace for impact. Ayana Rhys, the little imp, shouted “AAAAHHH!” at the top of her lungs and did it again because of the ever magic-to-a-toddler, echo!

So left with no choice, I picked, carried my errant 3-year-old daughter and prayed for more patience and guidance on how to be a better parent, a better mom. 

P.S. By the way, she’s a dog now. (Totally her choice).  Here boy!

A cat then, a dog now.

Disclaimer : The belt as leash is totally her idea and I let her use it only with my supervision.

 

15 thoughts on “Now My Dog

  1. Happy birthday, Yana!!! We all pray for more patience and direction to be better mums, Ava. I think you’re doing a fabulous job (I have a feeling the Man Upstairs would agree with me). xxx

  2. Happy Birthday, Yana-cat-dog! At least she knows what she wants to be at three. And even though I’m not Catholic, I’m sure God must laugh with our children no matter what.

  3. Pingback: 10 PICTURES « grapesandoranges

Leave a Reply

