Mikaela When….

Hi friends! It’s been a long while.

Why, I miss you too! 🙂

My first-born turned 5 last July 29 and while cuddling her a few days before her birthday, I excitedly told her that she’ll turn 5 soon, she told me matter-of-factly that she likes to be 6!  We’ve already established that she will be 5 first and then 6 a year after, but that doesn’t stop her from badgering me once in a while if she’s 6 already. Kids and ages. Me? I stopped counting at 25.

 

She is a kindergartner now, with 6 subjects. Six! Tough? Yes. But definitely tougher to the parents. Just a few weeks back after their 2nd mastery exam, I asked how she found the exams, reading most especially, since upon review, my little whiner said, “cgeg balik-balik Ma oi!”, in English it roughly translates to, *always reviewing, always repeating Ma!”. And what did my turtle/memorized-word reader replied?

“The words are new Ma. Teacher said it’s okay to practice at home!”

Toink! Righting myself from my eventual chair fall, I went to the nearest mall and bought two whiteboard marker, commence reading tutorial. Battle of wills? Check.

 

On the brighter side, she’s slightly improving on her 2-year old leggings obsession. I say slightly because a few Monday’s ago, she decided to not wear leggings under her school uniform anymore. *insert, me doing a fist pump. Yes!* This really is the real deal. Remember my I-spoke-too-soon-moment ? Barring school, the leggings is still the only type of clothing she wears anywhere anytime. Still, I am grateful for small sweet triumphs though.

Other than that, she’s still testing our patience on a daily basis. I’ll leave you with these one-liners from my progeny:

 

When pooping :  “Ma, what letter is my poop? I? L? Big letter L, small letter l?”

 When things are not according to her OCD-ish plans : “Check mark Papa, X mark Mama!”

When on a coughing spell, hoarse voice : “*cough* *cough* *cough*, HELLO? HELLO?” (testing her voice like testing a microphone)

 

I know, right? One word. Crazy!

 

image

10 thoughts on “Mikaela When….

  1. Aww, I’m forgetting already the sweetness of five-year olds as Samu turns six in November. Come to think of it, he was never as sweet as Ms. Leggings. What a sad day that’ll be when she turns her nose up to them. I’m crying already.

    • Hahaha! Take heart friend, she’s still crazy about them except every Wednesday, school uniform wash day, she’s fixated on this purple dress. She wants to wear it every Wednesday! Other than this, leggings it still is.

Leave a Reply

