10 Memorable Reads

This week, our list master Stasha at The Good Life asked us to list 10 books. Here are some of the memorable books, I’ve read. Definitely memorable for the quotes I memorized/listed upon reading it.

 

1. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupéry 

“It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.”

2. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

“And when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”

3. The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran

“Your children are not your children.
They are sons and daughters of Life’s longing for itself.
They come through you but not from you.
And though they are with you yet they belong not to you.You may give them your love but not your thoughts,
For they have their own thoughts.
You may house their bodies but not their souls,
For thir souls dwell in the house of tomorrow, which you cannot visit, not even in your dreams.
You may strive to be like them, but seek not to make them like you.
For life goes not backward nor tarries with yesterday.
You are the bows from which your children as living arrows are sent forth.
The archer sees the make upon the path of the infinite, and He bends you with His might that His arrows may go swift and far.
Let your bending in the archer’s hand be for gladness.
For even as He loves the arrow that flies, so He also loves the bow that is stable.”
4. Sophie’s World by  Jostein Gaarder

“So now you must choose… Are you a child who has not yet become world-weary? Or are you a philosopher who will vow never to become so? To children, the world and everything in it is new, something that gives rise to astonishment. It is not like that for adults. Most adults accept the world as a matter of course. This is precisely where philosophers are a notable exception. A philosopher never gets quite used to the world. To him or her, the world continues to seem a bit unreasonable – bewildering, even enigmatic. Philosophers and small children thus have an important faculty in common. The only thing we require to be good philosophers is the faculty of wonder…”

5. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel García Márquez

 “She discovered with great delight that one does not love one’s children just because they are one’s children but because of the friendship formed while raising them.”

6. By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept  by Paulo Coelho

“We can never judge the lives of others, because each person knows only their own pain and renunciation.”

“Traditional religions practices are important.They allow us to share with others the communal experience of adoration and prayer,but we must never forget spiritual experience is above all a practical experience of love,and with love,there are no rules some may try to control their emotions and develop strategies for their behavior,others may turn to reading books of advice from “experts” on relationships but this is all folly.The heart decides and what it decides is all that really matters.”

7. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë.

 “Prejudices, it is well-known, are most difficult to eradicate from the heart whose soil has never been loosened or fertilised by education: they grow there, firm as weeds among stones.”

8. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book!”

9. Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach

 “Like everything else, Fletcher. Practice.”

10. A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking

“Spontaneous creation is the reason there is something rather than nothing, why the Universe exists, why we exist.” 

 

14 thoughts on “10 Memorable Reads

  1. Love the books you chose and it is the first list that I read all 10! Here is a little trivia for you: Coehlo’s book Veronika decides to die is based in Ljubljana, my home town 😉
    Wonderful how you remembered what you loved in the books!

    • 🙂 One more reason why we are friends! 😉 You crossed my mind when I thought of listing Veronika Decides To Die, I did put it on number 9, but then I thought of Jonathan Livingstone Seagull and A Brief History of Time.
      Amazing! I actually know someone who lived on a place I just imagined as fictional! 😉 Cool!

    • A Brief History of Time was recommended to me by a very good and close priest friend. You summed it beautifully and succinctly Trish! Although I wasn’t able to understand all points, one thing clear was Sir Stephen Hawking did a wonderful job of making the topic accessible! And yes, surprisingly!!!! Agree!

  2. Amazing choices! I love The Prophet and I am dying to read The Alchemist. I tried reading Sophie’s World but never quite finished it. You’ve inspired me to make another attempt 🙂 x

  3. Wow, that’s a tough list! I’m still undecided which would top my list, “100 Years Of Solitude” or “Love In The Time Of Cholera.” Great picks, Ava.

  4. I’ve read some of those books..but over 20 years ago and further back. Other titles I bought but didn’t read. So I donated the books to a book sale. You have to realize: I have move several times in life over long distances (some over 4,500 km which the distance one-way between Toronto and Vancouver) and each time, I’ve had to cut down on my belongings.

    I used to read alot of literature, but somehow I seem to only make the effort to read non-fiction books, magazines and blogs. 🙂 Ironic: I did one of my university degree major, in English literature and language.

    Happy reading!

    • Speaking of ironic, I usually just borrow books Jean. 🙂 I have The Little Prince and Sophie’s World in paperbacks, the rest on this list, I just borrowed.

Leave a Reply

