Exchangeable English Words?

Last Saturday, my husband and I, were one of the principal sponsors to a wedding (husband’s relatives side). While lining up on the church front door for the entourage march, dear husband said,

Michael : Maka “enhance” man pud ni sa atong kasal sa una oi!  Translation : Waiting and lining up like this “enhance” me of our wedding before!

Me : Huh? Enhance? You mean “reminds” you of our wedding before, dear?

I actually did not laugh-out-loud, not because we are at a church, but because, I am used to hearing him say things like this.

In his defense, he was actually thinking of the word “reminisce”. He’s got one more word that stuck with me, instead of  “exaggerate or exaggerating”, he uses “extravagant”. Don’t you love him? I do. So, he says something like this, “Mama is so extravagant when talking about her new car”. Get it? Yes, the “so” is there intentionally. It is really quite easy to translate when you are used to his choice of English words. So far, this trait is manifesting in our eldest daughter Mikaela, she says “violent” instead of the color “violet” and “ponder” instead of “thunder”, “bentist” instead of “dentist” and of course, pitcher for teacher (this, I thought she’d mastered already, but actually, not just yet.).  Just my luck.

Back to the wedding, I’d like to share some of our pictures.

Imagine me, in a row of all  female principal sponsors wearing RED. The motif apparently is red. It was pointed out to me politely, that the invitations did have a red and yellow ribbon on the holder of the rolled invites. The said holder which Mikaela conveniently made her makeshift telescope the moment she saw it, thus, it didn’t register to my already frayed brain cells. Again, just my luck. Stand out, I did.

Me. Smile and all. Embarrassment momentarily forgotten.

Crappy pic. I should have insisted on a take two. Tsk.

Us. Notice how my husband's lips are redder than mine? It is all natural. So unfair!

14 thoughts on “Exchangeable English Words?

  1. That’s SO not a crappy pic! And your husband isn’t the only guy who mangles the English language. My husband once called his pal “homogenous” when he meant to say “homophobe” and he always says “disregard” when he means to say “disrespect.” I always tell him to stick with the first grade level words.

    • Nami! Hahaha! How you make me laugh unexpectedly sometimes.. hehehe Okay, now I feel good that I’m not the only wife to laugh and then cringe or vice versa everytime something like this happens.

  2. YOu two look so good together!! No wonder your girls are gorgeous!
    There is a British kids show we like to watch called Fireman Sam and one of the characters always uses ‘big words’ in wrong context : eccentric blanket instead of electric and illuminating instead of hallucinating. Always makes me laugh!

    • Thanks B! The dresscode thing was tricky. We will be attending another wedding this Feb. 17, by then, if i’ll be standing out, it would be for the right reasons.

  3. I LOVE those photos of you too ! You are such a beautiful gal, Ava ! I hope you realise that 😉

    I don’t necessarily use the wrong word but pronounce some specific Aussie words incorrectly. (Emphasis on the wrong syllable, etc.) My husband thinks it’s hilarious…*sigh*

    • Thank you Grace-ie! 🙂 I can just imagine. It happens all the time here since English is a second language although I still think anything you say would sound charmingly and uniquely melodious, wrong emphasized syllables and all. :)Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

