The Soundtrack of my Life

This week’s Monday Listicles topic is by Bruna at Bees With Honey, “Tell you life story using songs or music videos.” 

Monday Listicles brought to you by the fab Stasha at The Good Life.

1.  Summer Where Do We Begin – This song from the Phineas and Ferb movie, really brings a smile. Every summer, while growing up, our Lola will bring us to her cousins’ hometown, Bay-bay, Leyte. Those were one of the best memories I have with my Lola/Grandma.

2.  I Renounce Myself – I studied at a Catholic high school and every month we have one mass and this communion song just moves me. The funny thing is, this is what kept me from posting my blog entry because for the life of me, I can’t remember a line and the song title!!! All I remember is our talented batch mate Jessica singing this song beautifully. I asked my two batch mates in the office, but no luck. Alvin suggested to post this in the Batch Group in FB and after a few attempts on guessing, Michelle, bless her, posted the title. Yay! My problem now is, I couldn’t find an mp3 file and the lyrics, over the net.

3.   First Love by Utada Hikaru – If I knew this song before, this would probably be my cry theme song when “the” first love found another love.

4.   Never Had A Dream Come True by S Club 7 – COLLEGE days, this is one of the songs my friends and I sing,   alongside, Brown Eyes by Destiny’s Child.

5.  So Young by the Corrs – Still during COLLEGE days. We are taking it easy, bright and breezy, yeah! To be young and free.

6.  Journey To The Past by Aaliyah – This is actually a song included on Disney’s movie Anastasia. This song is full of hope.  I grew up with my Grandma, I only got to be in touch with my biological father when I was 13. Getting to know him and his family is like coming home.

Home, Love, Family, I will never be complete until I find you.

7. I’m Like A Bird by Nelly Furtado – While cruising through the bike lanes in Hiroshima, Japan on my way to work, this is on my repeat playlist (2005). Biking in a foreign land is so freeing.

8.  Ms. Independent by Neyo – I like how empowered the woman described in this song is. If I am still single, I’d be this girl.

9.  One In A Million You by Larry Graham – Dear husband’s song for me.

10. A Child’s Prayer – I find myself singing this song when I rock Mikaela to sleep on one of her “cranky colic” days. I learned this while I was in Japan and I met amazing Mormon missionaries there, who have become good friends until now.

23 thoughts on “The Soundtrack of my Life

  1. Utada, Hikaru – neh~…My mom would appreciate that. I have a hard time understanding Japanese singers who sing in Japanese with a Western accent, it’s a very strange phenomenon. And how do you reach those high notes in “A Child’s Prayer”? My boys would tell me to shut up.

    • Hahaha! One of these days, I’m gonna post a recording (via my phone) of me singing First Love. I was actually seriously considering posting my own version here but later.. As for the A Child’s Prayer, I will record my own version (when I can, no promises, I’m pressured just thinking about this statement) and have Kazuki and Isamu judge me.

    • Wow! Manila? Did you have the chance to visit Cebu? You are truly one well-traveled gal Stasha! As for the singing, I try to sing along with them as much as I can.

  2. I love Nelly Furtado and Phineas and Ferb, although I haven’t watched the movie, yet.
    There are songs that make me tear up in Mass, too. Especially ones that I’ve been singing all my life. There’s just a comfort there, I guess.

  3. Goodness…I wish I knew any of these, Ava! I’m so music-dumb! I love that you chose a Phineas and Ferb song. haha! I wish you had an email subscription…I’m missing your posts! I’m bad about my RSS feed reader… 🙂

  4. Glad you linked up – it’s so nice to drop by a blog for the first time – it sounds like you had quite an exotic sountrack to your life and travels! Looking forward to reading more. (-:

Leave a Reply

