Engineering Day, Not.

While some offshore support friends have been waiting for this post, I am sorry to say that I will not be sharing anything about the above title here. Why? Because there was a “missive”, nothing official really, that, it is not okay to copy and post pictures taken during the E day. WHAT???

I could write 1,000 words worth of rant about this stupid unofficial memo, but, I chose not to. So guys, move along, you will not be hearing about anything E Day here.

Sorry. Z, I will not be posting some of your pics here but I can, still ask, for some future posts, right?

I could actually just do it anyway, write the E Day post, without pictures, but it would not be as exciting. I’ve checked the red book and nothing about expressing your experience or sharing your pictures are prohibited only about using the company logo and nasty comments on the company, among other things. But, I am lazy and too pissed to write anything about it anyway now.

So, what to do? I don’t have anything prepared to cover this measly blog entry.

I could write about the latest summary episode of my current guilty pleasure a kdrama (K for Korean), Flower Boy Ramyun Shop Episode 12, but then it would not be in keeping with the above title huh? Duh.

So, I think I should just stop.

*light bulb moment!* Ding.

You may, dear silent readers over FB, however, go blog hopping instead. I assure you, you’ll have something to laugh or ponder about these new found friends of mine:

If you think you have weird dreams and aspirations, you may have to think again after reading Megan’s entries bestoffates.com. She’s a riot!

After serving as a U.S Army officer for about 10 years and another 4 years as research analyst and technical writer, Trishia decided to take a break to raise her two bright kids. If you are arts and crafts inclined, or not, she’s the go to person. Visit her here, crittersandcrayons.com.

Ms. Jean is an avid cyclist from Canada. She shares awesome pics from her travels! Find her here, cyclewriteblog.wordpress.com.

A wife to an avid surfer, a self-confessed karaoke queen, mom to two adorable identical twin boys. She writes from the heart. mamagrace.com

If you have boy kids, this is the place to go to. Tony is an expert on about any stuff boys do. stuffboysdo.com

Michael is an English teacher from Canada, now teaching in South Korea, his take on the Korean culture and his experiences are well documented here anageonism.wordpress.com.

Nami has a certain unique way of seeing things and on sharing her perspectives. Reading about her two boys is like knowing them personally already. I have a soft spot for her Air Head first born, though her artist-in-the-making second born is equally lovable too. Visit her at namzola.blogspot.com

Bridget is a mom of two sets of twins. I’ve been regularly linking to her.  I still would not stop from linking, find out why. Be sure to drop by her fab site, twinisms.com. Her dear husband was just deployed, go and say hi to her, she’ll love it!

I’ve found two Filipino bloggers too.

Say hi to Sandy here and to Janis here.

So, go on, say hi. Spread the love, love, love.

14 thoughts on “Engineering Day, Not.

  1. huh?! kinsa ingon? wa lagi nah, memo.. and 2nd human na ko ug post ug pics sa fb.. ug kung dili pwede, ngano man? does it include pics sa atong christmas party or any other event?! i am proud to be part of those very successful events baya.~sigh~

  2. Hey – thanks for the “shout out” – hope I live up to your mega-compliment! Too bad about the “silencing” memo – I love pictures in blogs. If all my cameras hadn’t died at the same time – I surely would’ve had more posts as of late.

    I plan to stalk a few of your suggested bloggers – don’t worry…I won’t ruin your reputation!

  3. Thanks for the shou out ! But sorry to hear that E day didn’t work out. Spreading some love is always a great solution:) I’m going to check out these other bloggers ! 🙂

    • Thank God for blogging! At least I was able to vent. Anyho, I talked to a friend who is with the committee and she told me it has something to do with keeping a low profile. Whatever, at least I was able to get it out of my system. Till next year.

  4. I had no idea you mentioned my blog. What a pleasant Christmas gift from you, ava!

    Actually it was title and first few paragraphs that caught my eye.
    I am not an engineer, but have been an engineering librarian for 12 years (fire protection engineering and firefighting), then switched over as a law librarian at severas different places. Then I was a Document Control Manager for a $800 million dollar road construction engineering project for a road bridge with several highway approaches.

    I did meet several Filipino women who worked at our site. 4 of them had engineering diplomas/degrees from Philippines. Most of them worked in costing, QA and document management (one of them worked in our dept. I hired her.) The one who worked in my dept. taught math at the college level in the Philippines. She won the best teacher award of the year.

    I understand how you feel. In Canada, in certain disciplines, women engineers have gained more respect and some have moved into management. The female fire protection engineers (this was for government regulatory agency) where I worked, did do real engineering work, on par and equal with the men. They were very bright and several had children also. 2 of them became managers.

    My partner worked for a national Canadian oil firm before he took early retirement. His company paved the way in the 1970’s to 1980’s to hiring female engineers and some did move into senior management. My partner has a civil engineering university degree but moved into management because he didn’t want to stay pure technical (He didn’t want to get bored over time.).

    I did see at the construction project (just 3 years ago), some inequities. There was never a female engineer who was in a supervisory nor management role. In fact on the management team, myself and the Human Resource Manager were the only female managers out of 15 managers for this project. (Peak construction there was over 600 full time people, of which on lower workloads it was 200 people.) but then it was a German company that had full control and in my opinion, an older more male style of management.

    I am proud to say that I am an aunt of a 25 yr. old niece is a geological engineer. She works for a software firm that specializes in geological modelling software. Their main clients are mining firms.
    Her father teaches engineering at a major Canadian university..totally different engineering discipline.

    I currently work in a division for an organization which includes our engineering section. The manager is an experienced female engineer, probably at least over 25 yrs. working in the profession. She was promoted very recently.

    So..there you go, ava. THere is the connection here. 😀 Merry Christmas!

    I hope your girls will look beyond the fashion and makeup stuff. They have to go through this phase. Every girl/woman does at some point in her life. But it’s so small in this big world of opportunities.

  5. Still it’s tough or it’s just a matter of making children aware of opportunities..in a fun, learning way (in today’s national Canadian newspaper:

    “In Grade 1, the gender ratio at the camp is about 60 per cent boys to 40 per cent girls. By Grade 5, that shifts to 80 per cent boys, 20 per cent girls. Somewhere between Grades 1 and 5, girls decide that technology or science camp isn’t the right place for them. (The school is currently looking at data to determine whether attending the camp has an effect on later enrolment rates.)
    The scene at the science camp is consistent with the ratios of men and women entering their first year of engineering studies. Across Canada, the number of women graduating with a degree in engineering, architecture and related fields has increased slightly since 1992 but still sits at just over 20 per cent, according to a 2007 Statistics Canada report. The number of women graduating from university increased in every field in the 1992-2007 period – except in mathematics, computer sciences and information sciences.
    In the United States, women comprise only 25 per cent of all so-called STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) jobs, according to the Department of Commerce. In Canada, women constitute only 22 per cent of occupations in the labour force relating to the natural sciences and engineering, according to a Research Council of Canada report last year.
    http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/careers/career-advice/leah-eichler/giving-the-tech-industry-a-makeover-will-draw-more-women/article2266335/

    • Engineering is also male dominated here in the Philippines. I don’t know the exact ratio, but I noticed that, more and more females are taking up engineering degrees now.

Leave a Reply

