South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

It’s not a place I’ve been planning to vacation or visit. It’s not the country my best friend lives. It’s not even a place I knew existed until last Friday when I read about it on the appropriately named “communication notebook” (a notebook where basically the teacher pastes/writes any announcements, reminders, exam pointers and the all important cutoff dates of the monthly tuition payment) of my 4-year-old pre-scholer.

It’s like this. It is customary here in my country, for schools, private and public to celebrate the United Nations month every October. It means you have to create a flaglet of your assigned country and wear clothes as close to the national costume you can find as possible, on the culmination of the UNO month. So, I pulled my hair in frustration why the teacher chose to assign the South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands to my indifferent couldn’t care-less daughter and her even more confounded mother. Why not Japan or Indonesia or Italy or the US of A? Is this even a country? Is this place affliated to UN? Why oh why this mouthful name for a country? Teacher Princess wrote and kindly suggested to search the internet for the flag and to prepare in advance the national costume. Very useful advice! HA!

Finding the national flag is simple, hunting down the national costume have given me a big headache since Friday. I can’t find a single article/file in the web of it or about it. Finally, I gathered from Wikipedia that the South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands have NO permanent inhabitants and NO native inhabitants. Mystery solved!

So now, I’m contemplating of sending Pitcher er Teacher Princess a note about my discovery or I could just find some winter boots and some wool jackets + bonnets for Mikaela to wear on the culmination day which will be 29 degrees to 36 degrees Celsius typically (do you have better suggestions, feel free to throw it at me please) OR ask for a change of country? But now that I know about this interesting seal and whale haven, it would be kind of insulting this rugged yet beautiful place.  So, I’m sticking with this country and pray help me how to convince my only wears leggings obstinate daughter. I’ll let you know.

 

South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands mountains

Check out the country’s official site, and they even have two live webcams to boot. And let’s all together add and file this one teeny bit of information for the day and say “ahhhh” *nods head*.

South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands 

And from Wikimedia Commons:

South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands is an overseas territory of the ► United Kingdom in the southern Atlantic Ocean. The territory was formed in 1985; previously it was governed as part of the ► Falkland Islands Dependencies. It is a remote and inhospitable collection of islands, consisting of South Georgia – which measures approximately 100 miles by 18 miles and is by far the largest island in the territory – and a group of smaller islands known as the South Sandwich Islands. It lies east of ► Argentina and north of ► Antarctica.

7 thoughts on “South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

  1. Wow – Pitcher really wants to make you work! I agree with Bridget that you should make it up. Perhaps that “wolf” costume in “Where the Wild Things Are”? Subconsciously, she’ll think it’s authentic because she can’t remember where she’s seen it before.

    • Hahahaha! Pitcher really wants us to do our share. I forgot mention her 3rd instruction, make a sash and write in all capital letters the country’s name. About the custome, I’ll make something up. 🙂

  2. I’m not good on my History classes.thanks really for introducing such place. . heheh. but i love the thought of you and your kiddo wearing winter attires. Mikaela would be so pretty with her bonnet, i’m sure of that! =) Post a photo during the final event, yay! so we can see your attires by then. =)

  3. Pingback: Where was I? « grapesandoranges

  4. Pingback: UNO Culmination 2011 « grapesandoranges

Leave a Reply

